Albanian, Pt. 1

It is time to properly begin learning my fiance’s language. Dario has gone over the alphabet with me multiple times but not all of it is sticking. Unlike previous attempts at languages, I’m not going to put deadlines or even specific goals on myself. They will not encourage or help me but instead loom over me. I tend to be very hard on myself and quit if I don’t have a natural ability.

Well, this attitude ends now. I’m going to improve myself by learning as much Albanian as I’m able and in doing so I will be kinder toward myself too.

I have to change my own language toward myself in order to better learn a new language.

And so, I’m going to focus on learning the alphabet (found here), each letter and its proper pronunciation. (X, Xh, and Y confuse me the most! Definitely not sinking in yet. And Zh seems very similar to Gj, but maybe that’s just me.)

Albanian Alphabet English Sound Pronunciation Example
A a as in far
B b as in boot
C t͡s as in bats
Ç t͡ʃ as in chat
D d as in drop
Dh ð as in there
E ɛ as in enter
Ë ə as in abuck
F f as in flee
G ɡ as in gulf
Gj ɟ as in join (soft g)(there is no equivalent english sound)
H h as in hotel
I i as in see
J j as in yawn
K q as in keep
L l as in leave
Ll ɫ as in balloon
M m as in mingle
N n as in no
Nj ɲ as in onion
O o as in post
P p as in pencil
Q c as in mature (soft ch, no english equivalent,like german ich)
R ɾ as in read
Rr r as in borrow (rolled)
S s as in sun
Sh ʃ as in shoot
T t as in trespasser
Th θ as in thin
U u as in food
V v as in vivid
X d͡z as in adz
Xh d͡ʒ as in Jupiter
Y y as in new(no english equivalent, like turkish,hungarian,german ü)
Z z as in zoo
Zh ʒ as in pleasure

Wish me luck and hopefully by our wedding (2 years away!) I’ll have learned the alphabet, basic phrases and questions. If I can’t learn that in 2 years, it’ll be sad but kind of pathetically funny.

Antonina

5 thoughts on “Albanian, Pt. 1

  1. You can do it! Honestly, I think you are underestimating yourself. I have seen people who claim to have no natural aptitude for learning a foreign language gain conversational ability in their spouse’s native language. Start with phrases like “baby/sweetheart,” “I love you,” “that meal was delicious,” “you look handsome/beautiful,” and start saying those only in Albanian to each other. Little by little you’ll be able to add more phrases in. You’re right not to set a deadline to it and unduly pressure yourself. Have fun with it! 🙂

  2. I do agree with newlywedmoi. Start with the romantic phrases. 🙂 But don’t be stressed about it. Exciting times are ahead of you. Enjoy yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

