Gifts from Dario

This post is not about glorifying material goods. It’s about the kindness of the giver, what the gifts represent, and the sweetness and thoughtfulness behind each item.

The very first gift Dario gave to me was…THE INTERNET!

(“The Internet” is a black box with a blinking red light in its center.)

img_9874

img_9877

img_9876    img_9875

This gift meant a lot because it’s a reference to the British comedy show The IT Crowd. When Dario and I initially met in a college summer class, I found out he was in IT and suggested he try watching The IT Crowd. At this point we were friendly (I had a huge crush on him) but he hadn’t asked me out yet. To be honest at this stage of things, I didn’t want to get my hopes up so I kept telling myself he didn’t like me. Nope. Nada. End of story. But when I told him to try the IT-themed show, and the next class day he told me he’d watched the entire series…well I thought maybe, just maybe he did like me.

So after a short time of dating (I swear it was only 3-ish weeks) he presented me with the box pictured above, just like the IT guys of the show presented it as a prank to their technologically-challenged boss.

img_9878

For our first Christmas together he gave me a hat I had been eyeing because…well, just look at its greatness! Red, white, a poof of a pom-pom and polar bears amidst lacy white designs. It’s super warm and comfy and I’ll definitely be utilizing it this winter, as I did last winter.

Also for Christmas he gave me a gift that is pragmatic and beautiful.

An ello thermos with an almost hammered design in a gorgeous blue-green.

Oh my goodness and gosh. That’s right, both of them. For this gift, Dario hunted through local bookstores to find me a vintage edition of my favorite Jane Austen novel, Persuasion. It’s silly but when I was a teenager I made a grand declaration: that it would be a sign I should marry him (future boyfriend) if he bought me an old edition of Persuasion. I never told Dario that but I he knew Persuasion is my favorite and that I love old books.

He’s a sweetheart.

For the latest gift, a birthday gift, I sadly do not have a picture (see random pic/representation below instead). But, Dario bought me a purple bike! It’s lovely and I can’t wait to go for a ride with him.

bicycle-icon-vector-1841327Whenever I take my thermos to work, wear my hat, read Persuasion or see the INTERNET in my room, I think of Dario and how much I love him and how romantic he is. I’m so lucky to have him in my life, and with me for the rest of my life.

He’s given me so much more than material gifts.

Antonina

One thought on “Gifts from Dario

Leave a Reply

