Khom Fai

A month ago Dario and I had the pleasure of dining at a local Thai restaurant: Khom Fai.

From visit #1 I’ve loved the food at this place! It’s so yummy and comforting yet with a dash of the new and fun. I personally don’t eat Thai food very often, nor do I cooked it–but I should–so it is always an experience for me.

imag01901

Well, I happened to meet a part-owner/chef of Khom Fai and he suggested I come by on a Sunday afternoon when they’re quieter and he’d make me off the menu items. I eagerly accepted this offer and it was wonderful. After Dario and I were seated and our drinks were served–I got my favorite, a Thai iced tea (see below)–the chef came out and took the menus from our hands saying, “You don’t need these. I got you.” Right then I knew this was going to be incredible!

imag01821

imag01831

There is a beauty to layered drinks like Thai iced tea that I always stop to admire. For those who are unfamiliar, Thai iced tea is a strongly brewed and spiced black tea sweetened with sugar and condensed milk and served over ice. Amazing.

imag01841

The first item we were served was a spring roll and a crab rangoon (in a lovely, crisp triangle) with a light sweet-sour sauce. Seafood isn’t even my thing but I love crab rangoon. Too much maybe. And Dario had never had it before so I was happy he tried it and really liked it too.

imag01851

Next up, two waitresses and the chef came out to give us our main dishes.

imag01871

There were three dishes, each lovely. On the left there’s a full plate of Pad Thai with tofu, bean sprouts and crushed peanuts. Tofu is very hit or miss in my opinion but this tofu was warm and yummy.

In the middle is shrimp fried rice. I’m not a seafood connoisseur but even I realized the shrimp was cooked perfectly.

And on the right was a mound of rice flanked by red curry (which was sweet) and basil beef (which was strong with a lovely kick of heat).

imag01881

My photos were hasty as I was eager to document but I didn’t want to spend minutes trying to get the “perfect shot” and not fully immerse myself in the gastronomic experience.

Last but not least we were served basil lime sorbet.

imag01931

imag01941

It was absurdly light and refreshing, and a complete palette cleanse after the flavorful, rich Thai food.

It was wonderful to go to Khom Fai, especially with Dario. And everything from the food, to the chef and the waitstaff, was spectacular! 5 out of 5 stars from me.

Antonina

3 thoughts on “Khom Fai

  1. Yummy reading this has just made me super hungry!! I love thai food as well.. though I must be honest and say that I never stray too far from green, red or yellow curry just because they’re soooo good.. but next time we go out I will take some guidance from this post!

      1. They really are 🙂 My boyfriend and I have a couple of favourite thai restaurants we go to quite often.. we both really enjoy them! The flavours are so yummy.. ha and now I am hungry- is all about craving thai food at 10.48 in the morning!

Leave a Reply

